Craigslist scam watch: TXG Shoes

I’ve been looking for work lately, and with the economy in its current state of near-death that means scraping the bottom of the barrel and looking for jobs on sites like Craigslist. I couldn’t tell you how many resumes and cover letters I’ve sent off in digital form, but I can say that if you printed them onto paper you’d probably have a big enough wad of paper to choke, if not a horse, then at least a good sized goat.

One of those resumes went off to an ad for a local office assistant/bookkeeper position. I thought the ad was a little suspicious from the very beginning because it didn’t specify the company’s name, but hey, what the hell, maybe the secretary posting the job just overlooked that detail, right? This morning I received a response to that particular resume sent into the ether. It looked like this:

Now if that doesn’t scream “SCAM” to you in 48 pt. bold lettering then you haven’t been using the Internet for long enough and should probably stay off of Craigslist for your own good. I could tell right away this was a ham-fisted attempt at identity theft. But what I didn’t realize until I clicked the website link at the bottom for TXG Shoes was how incompetent these scammers were. Take a look at their home page:

I haven’t edited this photo. TXG Shoes’ home page features graphics that are obviously stolen from somewhere else and slapped together in MSPaint, gray text on a black background and, despite the presence of five labeled sections at the top of the page, only three working pages; “Home” and “About” both lead to the same page, and “Contact Us” is mysteriously missing. It reminds me a little of a circa-1997 Geocities page.

Still, I think my favorite part of this bogus site is the product list, which looks like this:

Notice the word “cheap” used as a descriptor for every product. Also notice that the pictures are obviously ripped from another website.

So assuming I didn’t bother to check the site out and didn’t immediately conclude it’s a huge scam, what would happen if I clicked the link in that email and got my free credit report?

Oh, look at that, the link’s broken.

So congratulations, whomever designed the TXG Shoes scam, for barely going through the motions to create a website that wouldn’t pass muster in the first week of a CS101 class and failing to even deliver a valid link with which to gather my personal information for your nefarious purposes.

Leave a Reply

